New masks on Etsy

I’ve spent most of the last month working out the kinks in a particular new mask design. Once I get an idea in my head I tend go over it again and again until I’m either satisfied I’ve found the best solution or I’ve at least exhausted all the possibilities I can think of. That usually means a slew of masks representing variations on the same theme, so that I can see which ideas work and which do not.

The latest idea has been rather fruitful, and so far I’ve made three variations that I think came out pretty well:

Constantine

click on image to go to my Etsy store

click on image to go to my Etsy store

Neptune

Click on image to go to my Etsy store

Click on image to go to my Etsy store

and Triton

Click on image to go to my Etsy store

Click on image to go to my Etsy store

They are all based on the same design, the most obvious difference is that Neptune and Triton have beards and Constantine does not. I wanted to design a mask that could go either way, so to speak. The eyes and nose of all three are essentially the same and the headdresses have only minor differences.

I’ve still got some more ideas to work out with this design you may see more in this line soon.

The fourth mask is a bit of a break:

Helios

Click on image to go to my Etsy store

Click on image to go to my Etsy store

This is a design from last year that I wished to develop a little further, and something with a slightly more pleasant expression. Those other three seem a bit cranky for some reason. I don’t know why so many of my masks come out like that, it’s not like I’m trying to make them all look angry.

3 thoughts on “New masks on Etsy

  1. Love your pieces.  I was to slow on the draw and missed out on the long beards.  Perhaps I will be quicker next time.  Keep me on your list to follow. Your work is terrific!    

    Like

  2. Dear Joel

    If you ever make another Helios, I would love to buy it. Do you take commissions? If so, please let me know how much and where to send the money. I have been after one of your artworks for ages but the three currently on your site are a little too masculine for my taste.

    Like

Leave a Reply

