Two new masks

The two masks I have to show are new, but familiar. They represent the latest representation of an ongoing process of refinement.

click on image to go to my Etsy shop

click on image to go to my Etsy shop

click on image to go to my Etsy shop

click on image to go to my Etsy shop

The first is the latest version in what I’ve come to think of as the “nymph” series which began with “Oread” a little over a year ago

click on image to go to Flickr page

click on image to go to Flickr page

There was much about the design that I liked, but I couldn’t help tinkering with it nonetheless.

The second mask is a variation on the Golden Idol from not long ago. The changes here are largely infrastructural, so to speak. I’ve tried to tighten up the design a bit.

In my mind it seems like there should be a perfect way to express each design – the ideal arrangement of every fold.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Two new masks

  1. I’ve been in love with your work since I first came across it a few months ago; and not just the complexity and sculpting quality, but the brilliant use of color in the composition as well.

    I’ve been exploring coloring paper lately as a way to bring more life to my models, and no one seems to do it as well as you. I’ve read what little there is to be had on the subject online, and I would love it if you and your wife could share some of your wisdom on the subject.

    While I would love to hear everything you know on the subject, at the moment I am looking at using bleach on elephant hide to create an uneven coloring on the paper, and would greatly appreciate any tips you have on the process

    Like

  2. Pingback: New masks and Ben folds grids | origamijoel

Leave a Reply

