Homunculus and Asterius at Zibbet

Two new masks for sale at my Zibbet store:

click on image to go to my Zibbet store

click on image to go to my Zibbet store

Asterius and

click on image to go to my Zibbet store

click on image to go to my Zibbet store

Homunculus.

Asterius is based on a model I did some time ago that I called the “Imp”, but with some elaboration on the horns and a more flamboyant background. The flame motif and the somewhat bullish look of the face inspired me to name this one Asterius (or Asterion if you prefer), the mythical figure associated with the Cretan bull of the sun and sometimes identified as the famous Minotaur of the labyrinth.

Homunculus was a prototype with characteristics that would later find their way into several later designs. He’s kind of funny looking, but I think he’s cute. He looks more like an imp, but I already used that name so I call him a homunculus. He’s dressed up with a very nice glaze of mica infused metallic paint that gives him a pewter-like appearance.

2 thoughts on “Homunculus and Asterius at Zibbet

  1. I just ran across your masks on Pinterest, and wanted to encourage you to enter them in ArtPrize in Grand Rapids, MI. There’s decent money involved and lots of exposure- your art is incredible!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

